TBT Review #2: Forever His

throwback thursday reviews

Throwback Thursday Reviews is a weekly meme here @ A Weebish Book Blog. It is a chance to tweak old book reviews, share them with others, and perhaps fall in love with some old favorites.

Forever His was one of the first audiobooks I read. I thought it would be appropriate to showcase it in this week’s TBT Review because I’ve been enjoying historical romance lately. It’s not my favorite historical romance, but I did like it’s uniqueness.

FOREVER HIS BY SHELLY THACKER

forever his
Forever His by Shelly Thacker
Narrator: Julia Motyka
Series: Stolen Brides #1
Published by Summit Avenue Books on Dec. 5th, 2013.
Genres: Historical Romance, Time Travel
Format: Audiobook
Length: 15 hrs and 5 mins
Source: Publisher
Buy Links: Amazon | AudibleB&N
ADD TO GOODREADS

On New Year’s Eve, she tumbles 700 years back in time–and into the bed of a darkly dangerous knight.

Sir Gaston de Varennes wanted a docile bride who would fit into his plans for vengeance and justice, but a trick of time finds him married to a thoroughly modern American lady who turns his castle, his life, and his heart upside down. Will her desperate secret tear them apart after only a few bittersweet weeks of stolen passion–or will they conquer mistrust, treachery, and time itself to discover a love that spans the centuries?

FTC Disclaimer: This book was sent to me free in exchange for an honest review.

AUDIOBOOK
historical
time travel
ROMANCE

FOREVER HIS is a story about a woman from 1999 who heads to bed on New Years Eve and awakes in the arms of a handsome stranger seven hundred years in the past. I’m not a huge fan of time travel. Thankfully, my dislike of the genre did not negatively impact my experience with FOREVER HIS.

Sir Gaston, a French knight, returned home to get vengeance from the nobleman who slew his family. He is forced to marry Celeste (who is mistaken as his mortal enemy’s charge) by King Phillip in the hopes of peace between the two men. As you can imagine, this makes Gaston unbearably cranky and suspicious of Celeste’s startling appearance in his bed.

Meanwhile, Celeste is frantic to find a way home before she’s stuck in the past forever. I found myself completely enthralled by Celeste and  awed by her strength. If I had went to bed and woke up without electricity, indoor plumbing, and freedom (this is medieval France, where women are considered property) I am sure I would find myself slowly growing crazier.

As dazzled as I was with Celeste, I despised Sir Gaston for the most part. I understand he was grieving for his family and disbelieved Celeste’s stories of living in a time with flying machines as transportation, but he was an ass. He made it difficult to care whether he lived or died but somehow I made it through. In turn, I spent the time enjoying Celeste’s stubborn honesty in the face of this large man’s wrath. She was an impressive heroine!

While I didn’t like Sir Gaston, I enjoyed FOREVER HIS and hope to read more from this series, but I hope the other heroes are easier to enjoy!

star
star
star

About the Author

shelly thackerUSA Today bestselling author Shelly Thacker has earned lavish praise from Publishers Weekly, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Detroit Free Press and The Oakland Press, who have called her historical romance novels “innovative,” “addictive,” “erotic” and “powerful.”

A two-time RWA RITA Award finalist, Shelly has won numerous other honors for her novels, including a National Readers’ Choice Award, several Romantic Times Certificates of Excellence, and five straight KISS Awards for her outstanding heroes. The Detroit Free Press has twice placed her romances on their annual list of the year’s best.

When she’s not at the computer, you’ll find Shelly reading with her kids, knitting in local cafes, or kickboxing at the gym. She lives in Minnesota with her husband and two daughters.

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Website

BUY THE SERIES

forever his PB
his forbidden touch
his captive bride

5 comments

Leave a Reply

