TBT Review # 3: Anomaly

throwback thursday reviews

Throwback Thursday Reviews is a weekly meme here @ A Weebish Book Blog. It is a chance to tweak old book reviews, share them with others, and perhaps fall in love with some old favorites.

I read and reviewed ANOMALY back in the fall of 2014. I recently spied the book cover on an Entangled Teen email and realized I the second book just came out, almost 3 years later. thus, I felt it appropriate to feature ANOMALY on this week’s TBT Review.

ANOMALY BY TONYA KUPER

This book was sent to me free for honest review by the publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

anomaly

Anomaly by Tonya Kuper
Series: Schrodinger’s Consortium #1
Published by Entangled: Teen on Nov. 25th, 2014.
Genres: Paranormal, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Pages: 400
Source: Publisher
Buy Links: Amazon | B&N
ADD TO GOODREADS

Reality is only an illusion.
Except for those who can control it…
 

Worst. Birthday. Ever. 

My first boyfriend dumped me—happy birthday, Josie!—my dad is who knows where, I have some weird virus that makes me want to hurl, and now my ex is licking another girl’s tonsils. Oh, and I’m officially the same age as my brother was when he died. Yeah, today is about as fun-filled as the swamps of Dagobah. But then weird things start happening…

Like I make something materialize just by thinking about it.

When hottily-hot badass Reid Wentworth shows up on a motorcycle, everything changes. Like, everything. Who I am. My family. What really happened to my brother. Existence. I am Oculi, and I have the ability to change reality with my thoughts. Now Reid, in all his hotness, is charged with guiding and protecting me as I begin learning how to bend reality. And he’s the only thing standing between me and the secret organization that wants me dead…

ARCREVIEW
YAROMANCE
scifi
coverlove
smartfunny

When I picked up ANOMALY, I didn’t take much time to read the synopsis, I was mostly drawn to the pretty cover. People always say, “don’t judge a book by its cover,” but sometimes, the cover is what captures our attention. It didn’t prepare me for the hilarious dialogue, the awesome geeky main character, or the impressive Big Bang Theory references.

The Oculi create reality through observation. There are those that create matter, those that “erase”, and those which can do both. But being Occuli comes with a price that kills the fun of having the power create a million dollars into existence…

Now, I know what you’re thinking. It all sounds weird and a little blah, and at first I had many WTF moments, but Kuper has a talent for writing and world building that makes the weird plot line work better than you’d think.

ANOMALY sort of reminds me of Christine Feehan’s Ghost Walker series but for teenagers with a less convoluted plot line. There is a ton of action, lot of humor, and a few delicious make out sessions.

Josie takes the cake for having the worst birthday ever. Her boyfriend dumps her for not putting out, her dad has been missing for a month, and soon she learns her whole life has been a teenage rendition of The Truman Show and even worse…someone wants her dead.

As you can tell, I enjoyed Josie as a heroine. She’s a superhero obsessed, Sheldon-type without the god complex and a better attitude. Even though she’s a brainiac with super powers, she is a character that I easily connected to. She has issues that I found relate-able and realistic in a sense.

I wasn’t as enamored with Reid, but the author didn’t reveal much about him until the cliffhanger. I still didn’t get near as much detail as I wished. I did enjoy him eventually, but until I learn more about his mysterious past I’m still left with only pieces of his character.

Kuper is sadistic with her teasing foreshadow, but I enjoyed myself immensely. I cannot wait to read more from this series. If you are a fan of young adult or almost-but-not-quite dystopian worlds, try ANOMALY out for size.

star
star
star
star
star

About the Author

tonya kuperTonya Kuper writes young adult science fiction and contemporary novels. She first fell in love with reading in elementary school, which eventually lead to earning a BA in Elementary Education and a MS in Reading Education, but she never thought she’d write a novel, let alone several. When Tonya isn’t writing, she teaches Young Adult Literature Writing Workshop at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, laughs as much as possible, loves music, and nerds-out over Star Wars, Marvel, Sherlock, and all things pop-culture. She lives in Omaha, NE with her husband and two rad boys.

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Website

 GRAB THE SERIES!

anomaly
enigma

5 comments

Leave a Reply

