Bitten by Kelley Armstrong

bittenBitten by Kelley Armstrong
Series: Women of the Otherworld #1
Published by Plume on Sept. 21st, 2001.
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Buy Links: Amazon | B&N
ADD TO GOODREADS

“Frisky…Tells a rather sweet love story, and suggests that being a wolf may be more comfortable for a strong, smart woman than being human.” –The New York Times Book Review

Elena Michaels seems like the typically strong and sexy modern woman, She lives with her architect boyfriend, writes for a popular newspaper, and works out at the gym. She’s also a werewolf.

Elena has done all she can to assimilate to the human world, but the man whose bite changed her existence forever, and his legacy, continue to haunt her. Thrown into a desperate war for survival that tests her allegiance to a secret clan of werewolves, Elena must recon with who, and what, she is in this passionate, page-turning novel that begins the Women of the Otherworld series.

urban
howlinggood
paranormal
TBRPile

BITTEN by Kelley Armstrong is the first book in the prolific Women of the Otherworld series. The novel has graced my bookshelves for too long, so I finally gave it a shot during the COYER July read-a-thon. Y’all! Once again I find myself annoyed I waited so damn long to read it. I had a blast learning the mechanics of Armstrong’s world and pouted to be left out of werewolf hide and seek. Unfortunately, I couldn’t rate BITTEN any higher than three stars because of frustrations with our heroine.

Determined to deny her wolf, Elena Micheals leaves her home at Stonehaven behind when she moves to Toronto to live free from the Pack. For a while, she succeeds. She has a wonderful boyfriend, a close relationship with his family, and a fulfilling job as a newspaper reporter. When Elena receives a call from her  Alpha, her life in Toronto forced aside as she rushes home. She puts her misgivings about her Pack, past betrayals, and her apprehension of dealing with Clay on the back-burner to deal with a danger threatening werewolves and humans alike.

As previously stated, my rating would have been much higher had I less complaints with Elena. Elena is a heroine that would rather deny who she is than to come to grips with the person she “became” when she was bit lives in denial for the majority of the book. I don’t hate Elena’s character, I just became increasingly frustrated when she continued to make things more complicated because she can’t communicate a feeling to save her life. Thankfully, she does grow to acknowledge these faults and experience some character growth. However, I had another issue with her: her infidelity. Cheating is a big no-no for me. Rarely can I stomach to finish a book when I come across it, so it stands to reason the author must be talented if she can keep me wanting to read more from the series!

Clayton Danvers was bitten as a child. He was rescued from the streets of Louisiana and adopted by the Pack Alpha as a child. He is the most psychopathic ferocious wolf in the Pack and completely committed to Elena, even though she wants nothing to do with him. His childhood spent more wolf than human makes it almost impossible for him to resist his instinct—which tends to get him in hot water in the human world. He is just as flawed as Elena, but he’s upfront and honest it. He tries to overcome his weaknesses. I connected with Clay more than I did Elena.

The secondary characters mostly consist of the Pack members Elena grew up with. I really enjoyed her furry family, especially Nick, Clay’s BFF/lackey. I have no idea how she can resist them for so long! They were so adorable, I cannot wait to learn more about them as the series continues.

While I had complaints about the characters, I found the world building incredibly well written. Armstrong appears to miss nothing with her attention to detail. I was pleasantly surprised the story’s first-person, present-tense narrative didn’t put me off. BITTEN was a novel where the reader felt as if they were part of the story too—except of course when said reader can’t play hide and seek with everyone. *pouts*

Elena’s still not my favorite heroine, but I have a feeling she will continue to grow on me as the Women of the Otherworld series moves on. I enjoyed BITTEN, and plan to pick up STOLEN soon. I am impatient to return to this wonderful furry world!

star
star
star

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

About the Author

kelley armstrongKelley Armstrong has been telling stories since before she could write. Her earliest written efforts were disastrous. If asked for a story about girls and dolls, hers would invariably feature undead girls and evil dolls, much to her teachers’ dismay. All efforts to make her produce “normal” stories failed.

Today, she continues to spin tales of ghosts and demons and werewolves, while safely locked away in her basement writing dungeon. She’s the author of the NYT-bestselling “Women of the Otherworld” paranormal suspense series and “Darkest Powers” young adult urban fantasy trilogy, as well as the Nadia Stafford crime series. Armstrong lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, kids and far too many pets.

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Website

GRAB THE SERIES!

Have you read the Otherwolrd series? If so, let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

12 comments

  1. Wow this is a long series. And is the basis for the Bitten TV show? I think I heard that it was. Too bad Elena was a little iffy, I don’t like it when heroines or heroes don’t communicate either, but otherwise sounds like a pretty good series!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this series! And this author is one of my favorite authors. I really liked the world she cerated here and Elena and Clay are a great couple. I can see why you had some trouble with those things though. And Elena does make things difficult for herself at times, but it’s part of her personality and she has some great character development throughout the series. I hope you’ll enjoy the rest of the series even more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

