TBT Review #6 | Rising Tides

throwback thursday reviews

Throwback Thursday Reviews is a weekly meme here @ A Weebish Book Blog. It is a chance to tweak old book reviews, share them with others, and perhaps fall in love with some old favorites.

*By tweaking reviews I do not mean I will be changing review ratings or my opinions, since those are likely to change over the years . I will only be changing grammar errors, wording, sentence structure, etc. 

This week’s TBT Review is RISING TIDES, the second book in the Chesapeake Bay Saga. This is one of my favorite series re-reads and thought I’d share my thoughts.

RISING TIDES BY NORA ROBERTS

rising tides

Rising Tides by Nora Roberts
Series: Chesapeake Bay Saga #2
Published by Jove on Aug. 1st, 1998.
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Format: Paperback
Source: Public Library
Buy Links: Amazon | B&N
More books by this author: The Collector, Sea Swept
ADD TO GOODREADS

Of the three brothers, it was Ethan who shared his father’s passion for the Maryland shore. And now with his father gone, Ethan is determined to make the family boatbuilding business a success. But amidst his achievements lie the most important challenges of his life…

There is young Seth, who needs him more than ever. And there is a woman he has always loved but never believed he could have. But beneath Ethan’s seemingly still waters is a dark and painful past. He must learn to see around the shadows to accept who he is. Because through Ethan’s past lies the future–and his one chance at happiness…

LIBRARY READ
FAVE AUTHOR
ROMANCE
FAMILY
REREADABLE

Ethan isn’t my favorite character in this series, but his and Grace’s book is very enjoyable and has it’s own part to play in the Chesapeake Bay Saga. I happily re-read this series every time I’m in a book slump and I need a Nora Roberts pick me up.

Ethan is the Tall, Dark, and Silent type. It’s not that he doesn’t speak, but he doesn’t feel the need to fill a space with words like I do. He’s content to work in silence or just soak up the lakeside air. Even though he’s not as approachable as his brother Cam, or even Phillip, he always surprises a laugh out of me. He’s also one of the most clueless men I have ever read about, especially when it comes to women. He compared Grace to a HORSE! I realize he was trying to compliment her long, silky legs, but seriously. A horse? Pfft.

Grace is an intriguing character. My original interest in RISING TIDES stems from my curiosity about she and Seth’s relationship, and now I can see why he has such a big crush on her. She’s a sweet, caring mother, and little bit naive. There are a few “poor, deluded Grace” moments,, but in the end I found her character endearing. And her daughter, Aubrey, was just adorable. My favorite character of the book, hands down.

This book might not have been my favorite of the Chesapeake Bay Saga, but it was a great read that I’m sure I’ll be re-reading again one day. If you’re family-thmed contemporary romances or a fan of Nora Roberts, check out this series.

star
star
star
star

About the Author

Nora robertsNora Roberts is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than 200 novels, including Come Sundown, The Obsession, The Liar, and coming in December 2017, Year One — the first book in The Chronicles of The One. She is also the author of the futuristic suspense In Death series written under the pen name J.D. Robb. There are more than 500 million copies of her books in print.

Facebook | Goodreads Website

 Chesapeake Bay Saga

Who are some of your long-time favorite authors?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

