TBT Review #23 | PNR Mini Reviews

throwback thursday reviewsThrowback Thursday Reviews is a weekly meme here @ A Weebish Book Blog. It is a chance to tweak old book reviews, share them with others, and perhaps fall in love with some old favorites.

*By tweaking reviews I do not mean I will be changing review ratings or my opinions, since those are likely to change over the years . I will only be changing grammar errors, wording, sentence structure, etc.

I’ve recently picked up reading the Dark-Hunter series where I left off back in 2014 when I first had the idea to re-read the series in order. I’ve gotten a lot further then I did back then, but I still wanted to share my old reviews. Since I wrote such a short review of NIGHT PLEASURES, I decided it would be more productive to knock two mini reviews off the list. Without further ado, here are my revised reviews of NIGHT PLEASURES and MEMORY ZERO.

MEMORY ZERO

memory zeroMemory Zero by Keri Arthur
Series: Spook Squad #1
Published by Dell on Aug. 26th, 2014.
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Source: Public Library
Buy Links: Amazon | B&N
ADD TO GOODREADS

For Sam Ryan, life began at age fourteen. She has no memory of her parents or her childhood. In a decade of service with the State Police, Sam has exhausted the resources of the force searching for clues to her identity. But all mention of her family seems to have been deliberately wiped off the record. Everything changes the night Sam’s missing partner resurfaces as a vampire . . . and forces her to kill him in self-defense. Now Sam is charged with murder. Suspended from the force, and with no one left to trust, Sam accepts some unexpected help from Gabriel Stern, a shapeshifter who conceals startling secrets.

While investigating the circumstances surrounding her partner’s strange behavior, Sam discovers that Garbriel’s been involved with a dangerous organization that’s planning a war on the human race. More immediate, someone is guarding the truth about Sam’s past—someone who’d rather see her dead than risk her knowing too much. To stay alive, Sam must unravel the threads of her past—and find out not only who she is but what she is.

LIBRARY READ
SERIES READ
paranormal
ROMANCE
urban

MEMORY ZERO by Keri Arthur is a library read I picked up on a whim. I hadn’t read anything Keri Arthur in years but I fondly remembered enjoying the Riley Jenson series and wanted to see how this one would compare.

I enjoyed this one pretty well, but it wasn’t a stunner. MEMORY ZERO is the usual first-in-series read. It’s focus was background and world-building, and while both are essential, I prefer a little heat and excitement in my PNR and this one had very little. Which I found rather off, considering the author. I recall the Jenson series was all sex all the time, but I can appreciate Arthur trying to change gears.

Though I can appreciate that Sam and Gabriel spent most of the time feeling each other out instead of feeling each other up, but MEMORY ZERO felt a bit stale. Sam’s life was kind of falling a part so I am excited to see how things out work for her in GENERATION 18—and how the love interest plays out

star
star
star

MEMORY ZERO

night pleasuresNight Pleasures by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Series: Dark-Hunter #1, Dark-Hunterverse #2
Published by St. Martin’s Press on March 13th, 2004.
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Source: Paperbackswap
Buy Links: Amazon | B&N
More books by this author: Fantasy Lover
ADD TO GOODREADS

Dear Reader,

Have you ever wanted to know what it’s like to be immortal? To journey through the night stalking the evil that preys on humans? To have unlimited wealth, unlimited power? That is my existence, and it is dark and dangerous. I play hero to thousands, but am known to none. And I love every minute of it.

Or so I thought until one night when I woke up handcuffed to my worst nightmare: a conservative woman in a button-down shirt. Or in Amanda’s case, buttoned all the way up to her chin. She’s smart, sexy, witty, and wants nothing to do with the paranormal-in other words, me.

My attraction to Amanda Devereaux goes against everything I stand for. Not to mention the last time I fell in love it cost me not only my human life, but also my very soul. Yet every time I look at her, I find myself wanting to try again. Wanting to believe that love and loyalty do exist.

Even more disturbing, I find myself wondering if there’s any way a woman like Amanda can love a man whose battle scars run deep, and whose heart was damaged by a betrayal so savage that he’s not sure it will ever beat again.

Kyrian of Thrace

FAVE AUTHOR
KICKASS
fangtastic
alpha

 

I’m currently in the process of re-reading and catching up on the Dark-Hunter series. I’ve always wanted the chance to experience the series in chronological order, something I wasn’t able to do when I first discovered the series. NIGHT PLEASURES is the official first Dark-Hunter novel and I have to admit, I enjoyed it just as much the second time around.

The book starts out with a bang when Amanda and Kyrian are unwillingly locked into magical handcuffs together. As you can imagine, things get even more entertaining—and ridiculous—for our unfortunate characters. NIGHT PLEASURES is brimming with sexual tension, kickass vampire hunting (and one ass-kicking vampire), and laugh out loud humor.

star
star
star
star

Leave a comment