Secret Life of a Vampire by Kerrelyn Sparks #quotetastic

secret life of a vampire

Secret Life of a Vampire by Kerrelyn Sparks
Series: Love at Stake #6
Published by Avon on March 31st, 2009.
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Buy Links: Amazon | B&N
ADD TO GOODREADS

Nothing’s sexier than an man who can keep a secret.

A typical bachelor party is all about beers and beautiful women. A vampire bachelor party is no different — except the men are drinking Blissky (whiskey-flavored synthetic blood). And no one can throw a party quite like Jack, the illegitimate son of the legendary Casanova. But when the party gets out of hand and the cops show up, Jack has some explaining to do . . . if only he wasn’t struck speechless by the beauty of Officer Lara Boucher.

Lara is sure there’s something more than a bachelor party going on. What is Jack hiding? And why is he so interested in the recent disappearance of young women all over town? Her investigation uncovers more than she wants to know, especially about this modern-day Casanova. But if she’s ever to make detective, she’ll need to expose all his secrets . . . if only her heart wasn’t on the line.

ROMANCE
paranormal
fangtastic
smartfunny
hot

The Love at Stake series is one I discovered years ago in middle school, and I have continued to love her romances ever since. This novel is one that I hadn’t read yet, but after finishing SECRET LIFE OF A VAMPIRE I picked up two additional books to add to my collection. It was a fun, vampy adventure full of laughs and heated romance.

Jack throws a  bachelor party to celebrate his Scottish pal’s upcoming nuptials that soon gets out of hand with the arrival of bagpipes, drunk sword fighting, and synthetic blood flavored alcoholic beverages. Things become even more disastrous when police officer Lara Boucher shows up demanding to have a look inside the blood splattered hotel room.

Laura Boucher, ex-Miss Teen Louisiana and newly minted beat cop, is immediately suspicious of the wickedly handsome man, but she just can’t figure out what he is. When college girls start to go missing, she’s forced to put aside the puzzle that is Jack and use his expertise apprehend the serial kidnapper.

Jack, illegitimate son of Casanova, is a vampire who has spent his life—and death—determined not to be his father. He is incredibly attracted to the alluring police officer but he’s reluctant to do anything about his interest. If his past relationships with humans has taught him anything, she will run for her life if she ever learns the truth. However, his past regrets do not stop him from flirting with her at every opportunity.

Jack was so adorable!. He is gentlemanly, old-fashion, and surprisingly naughty. The contrasts in his personality made him an entertaining hero, and I fell hard for the big romantic.

“I can feel your heart. It’s beating a little fast.”

“You’re touching me.”

She had an effect on him? She liked that. She gave him a playful smile. “So you’re not…hiding a second heart somewhere?”

The corner of his mouth quirked. “Hide and seek? Where would I hide it?”

Her throat constricted. Was he implying he was an alien? “I don’t know. Where? She slid her hand down his rib cage and pressed against his firm stomach. “I don’t feel anything beating.”

“A little lower.”

“Here?” She reached the waistband of his jeans.

“A little lower.”

She noticed the bulge beneath his zipper and snatched her hand away. “You Neanderthal.”

These two were so fun together! Lara couldn’t take all the secrets and unanswered questions was made it her mission to find out just what he was hiding, whether he liked it or not. Her stubborn quest for the truth made for some hilarious, somewhat cringey scenarios. It got pretty ridiculous but Lara is one hard to resist heroine and she never gave up. There were some moments where I just wanted to cover my eyes in embarrassment for her, but I can’t help myself. She was quite the quirky heroine and I loved her for it!

Reading SECRET LIFE OF A VAMPIRE was both a blast from the past and a new adventure into this fun vampire world. Fans of Lynsay Sands, Erin McCarthy, or Michelle Bardsley should give Kerrelyn Sparks a shot—she does not disappoint!

star
star
star
half star

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

About the Author

kerrelyn sparksKerrelyn Sparks apparently has issues with reality. After writing more than a dozen books about vampires, she has now completely gone off the deep end and wound up on another planet. But how thrilling that she can share this magical new world with her readers! Although she is best known (so far) for the Love at Stake series, which has hit as high as number 5 on the New York Times list and 22 on the USA Today list, she hopes her readers will love The Embraced as much as they did her merry band of vamps and shifters. To learn more about her paranormal, historical, and upcoming out-of-this-world fantasy romances, please visit Kerrelyn on Facebook, Twitter, or her website.

Facebook| Twitter | Goodreads | Website

GRAB THE SERIES!

11 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s